Registration of foreigners in Russia during the World Cup

The term of registration of foreign citizens for the duration of the World Cup in Russia can increase to three days, said Consul of the Embassy of Colombia in Russia Hernando Pieneros.
According to the regulations on registration for migration registration, registration for the time of the mundial from 25 May to 25 July should be carried out in the cities participating in the World Cup at the place of stay or temporary residence within 24 hours from the time of arrival.
Pieneros told RIA Novosti that, according to the Russian Foreign Ministry, an appeal had already been submitted to the relevant authorities to increase the registration period from 24 to 72 hours from the date of arrival.
“It is certainly better, but it will not solve all problems with registration, we understand that such requirements for foreigners are made for security reasons.” Competent authorities should know who is in the country, but in part the main control can be considered the fan’s passport, once he was equated to a visa document, ” Pieneros said.
As a possible problem situation, he cited the example of the opening match in the Moscow “Luzhniki”, which seats 80 thousand spectators.
“Let’s say that 60% of them will be Russian citizens, but 40% will be foreigners, so about 30 thousand foreign tourists will have to register almost at once.” In this I see a very big problem, “the consul commented.
He added that foreigners need to register within 24 hours if they move to another city.
He noted that when settling in a hotel, such problems do not arise, since registration is carried out directly upon arrival. This is done even by most hostels.
Pieneros specified that according to the law of the Russian Federation, depending on the circumstances, violators of the migration procedures may face fine, detention, and in the worst case – deportation.
The first in the history of the football world championship in Russia will be held from June 14 to July 15, 2018. The tournament will be played in Moscow, Kaliningrad, St. Petersburg, Volgograd, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Saransk, Rostov-on-Don, Yekaterinburg and Sochi.